​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​

​Indebtness:


As at 31 December 2015, the Government's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 142.2 billion (U.S.$37.9 billion), which entirely comprised domestic indebtedness and which represented 5.8 per cent. of Saudi Arabia's nominal GDP for the year ended 31 December 2015.

As at 31 December 2016, Saudi Arabia's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 316.6 billion (U.S.$84.4 billion), comprising SAR 213.5 billion (U.S.$56.9 billion) of domestic indebtedness and SAR 103.1 billion (U.S.$27.5 billion) of external indebtedness. 

As at 31 December 2017, Saudi Arabia's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 443.3 billion (U.S.$118.2 billion), comprising SAR 259.5 billion (U.S.$69.2 billion) of domestic indebtedness and SAR 183.8 billion (U.S.$49.0 billion) of external indebtedness.

As at 31 December 2018, Saudi Arabia's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 560.0 billion (U.S.$149.3 billion), comprising SAR 305.0 billion (U.S.$81.3 billion) of domestic indebtedness and SAR 255.0 billion (U.S.$68.0 billion) of external indebtedness. 

As at 30 December 2019, Saudi Arabia's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 677.9 billion (U.S.$180.8 billion), comprising SAR 372.8 billion (U.S.$99.4 billion) of domestic indebtedness and SAR 305.2 billion (U.S.$81.4 billion) of external indebtedness.

As at end of December 2020, Saudi Arabia's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 853.5 billion (U.S.$227.6 billion), comprising SAR 502.6 billion (U.S.$134.0 billion) of domestic indebtedness and SAR 350.9 billion (U.S.$ 93.6 billion) of external indebtedness. 

As at end of Dec 2021, Saudi Arabia's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 938.0 billion (U.S.$250.1 billion), comprising SAR 558.7 billion (U.S.$149.0 billion) of domestic indebtedness and SAR 379.3 billion (U.S.$ 101.1 billion) of external indebtedness. 

As at end of September 2022, Saudi Arabia's total outstanding direct indebtedness amounted to SAR 972.3 billion (U.S.$259.3 billion), comprising SAR 610.5 billion (U.S.$162.8 billion) of domestic indebtedness and SAR 361.8 billion (U.S.$ 96.5 billion) of external indebtedness. 


The following table sets forth the Government's total outstanding direct indebtedness (external and domestic) as of 31 December 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, and 2015, respectively. In addition to Q3 2022.


​​Government’s total outstanding direct indebtedness (external and domestic)
SAR billions, except percentages
​Q3 2022
2021
​2020
2019
 2018
2017
2016
2015
Borrowed During Period
93.7(2)
157.9 (1)220.0​120.0
120.0
139.1
200.1
98
Repaid During Period
​59.4 (2)
73.4 (1)
​44.4
2.0
3.3
12.4
25.8
-
Indebtedness Outstanding at End of Period
​972.3
938.0​853.5
677.9
560.0
443.3
316.6
142.2 
Change (%)
3.7
9.9
25.9​21.1
26.3
40.0
122.5
221.4
GDP (3) (Nominal)3,126​​3,126
2,638​3,0143,062
2,582
2,419
2,454
Ratio of Public Debt to Nominal GDP (%)
31.1​​
30.0
​32.4
22.518.3
17.2
13.1
5.8

Source:  National Debt Management Center, Ministry of Finance

1.      2021 figure is including an amount of SAR 33bn related to a switch transaction executed end of 2021.

2.      2022 figure is including SAR 26 bn related to the switch transaction executed in 2022.

3.      As per General Authority for Statistics.

 


The following table sets forth a breakdown of the Government's outstanding direct domestic borrowing (excluding debt of Government-related entities) by creditor type, as of 31 December 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, and 2015, respectively. In addition to the 3rd Quatrter of the FY 2022.​


Domestic Debt​
SAR billions, (except percentages)
​Q3 2022
2021
​2020
​​2019
2018
2017
2016
Autonomous Government Institutions184
200.0
​192.9
92.0
84.4
71.9
80.6
Commercial Banks
407.7
348.2
​302.4
274.4
220.5
187.6
132.9
​​​​Investment Companies
2.8​
3.9
​3.9
3.9
0.1
-
-
Individuals
0.2
0.0
​0.0
0.0
-
-
-
Mutual Funds
6.2
5.1
​2.5
1.9
-
-
-
Other
6.4
1.5
​0.86
0.5
-
-
-
​Foregn Investment
3.2
-
-
-
-
--
Total Domestic Indebtedness
610.5
558.7
​502.6
372.8
305.0
259.5
213.5
Net Change51.8
56.1
​129.9
67.8
45.5
46.0
71.2
New Loans (1)
1.7 (1)
-
11.0​-
-
-
-
New Debt Securities (2)
93.7 (2)
109.1 (2)
​163.3
69.8
48.8
58.5
97.0
Repaid During Period (2)
​(41.9) (2)
(52.7​)
​(44.4)
(2.0)
(3.3)
(12.4)
(25.8)

Source: National Debt Management Center, Ministry of Finance

1.      The Governmental Alternative Financing to the 3rd quarter of 2022.

2.      2021 and 2022 figures are including the repurchasing transaction.

Note:               

​​·  Numbers are rounded.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​

​​


​ملخص المديونية العامة:

​​

بلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في 31 ديسمبر 2015 (142.2) مليار ريال سعودي (37.9 مليار دولار أمريكي) جميعها ديون محلية وتعادل (5.8) بالمائة من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للمملكة للسنة المنتهية في 31 ديسمبر 2015.

وبلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في 31 ديسمبر 2016 (316.6) مليار ريال سعودي (84.4 مليار دولار أمريكي) منها (213.5) مليار ريال سعودي (56.9 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون محلية و (103.1) مليار ريال سعودي (27.5 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون خارجية. 

وبلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في 31 ديسمبر 2017 (443.3) مليار ريال سعودي (118.2مليار دولار أمريكي) منها (259.5) مليار ريال سعودي (69.2 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون محلية و (183.8) مليار ريال سعودي (49.0 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون خارجية. 

وبلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في 31 ديسمبر 2018 (560.0) مليار ريال سعودي (149.3 مليار دولار أمريكي) منها (305.0) مليار ريال سعودي (81.3 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون محلية و (255.0) مليار ريال سعودي (68.0 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون خارجية. 

وبلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في 31 ديسمبر 2019 (677.9) مليار ريال سعودي (180.8 مليار دولار أمريكي) منها (372.8) مليار ريال سعودي (99.4 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون محلية و (305.2) مليار ريال سعودي (81.4 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون خارجية. 

وبلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في نهاية ديسمبر 2020 (853.5) مليار ريال سعودي (227.6 مليار دولار أمريكي) منها (502.6) مليار ريال سعودي (134.0 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون محلية و (350.9) مليار ريال سعودي (93.6 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون خارجية. 

وبلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في نهاية ديسمبر 2021 (938.0) مليار ريال سعودي (250.1 مليار دولار أمريكي) منها (558.7) مليار ريال سعودي (149.0 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون محلية و (379.3) مليار ريال سعودي (101.1 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون خارجية. 

وبلغت الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة في نهاية سبتمبر​ 2022 (972.3) مليار ريال سعودي (259.3 مليار دولار أمريكي) منها (610.5) مليار ريال سعودي (162.8 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون محلية و (361.8) مليار ريال سعودي (96.5 مليار دولار أمريكي) ديون خارجية. 

يوضح الجدول التالي إجمالي الديون المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة (الديون الخارجية والمحلية) في 31 ديسمبر 2021 و2020 و2019 و2018 و2017 و2016 و2015، على التوالي، بالإضافة الى بيانات 2022م حتى الربع الثالث من العام.


​بمليارات الريالات، 
عدى النسب المئوية
​​ ​​


2015
2016
2017
2018
 2019
​​2020
٢٠٢١
الربع الثالث
٢٠٢٢​
​المقترض خلال الفترة​ 
98.0
200.1139.1​
120.0
120.0
220.0
157.9 (١)
93.7 (٢)
​المسدد خلال الفترة 
-
25.8​
12.4
3.3
2.0
​٤٤.٤
73.4​ (١)
59.4 (٢)
​حجم الدين العام القائم في نهاية الفترة
142.2
316.6
443.3​
560.0
677.9
853.5​938.0
972.3
​نسبة التغير (٪)​221.4
122.5
40.0
26.3
21.1
25.9​9.9
3.7
الناتج المحلي الاجمالي (الإسمي) (٣)2,454​
2,419
2,582
٣٫٠٦٢
٣٫٠١٤
​٢٫٦٣٨
٣٫١٢٦
​٣٫١٢٦
نسبة الدين العام إلى الناتج المحلي الاجمالي (٪)​
5.8​
​13.1 
17.2
1٨.٣
٢٢.٥
​٣٢.٤
٣٠.٠
31.1

المصدر: المركز الوطني لإدارة الدين، وزارة المالية

1.     بيانات عام 2021م تشمل على مبلغ 33 مليار ريال المتعلقة بعملية إعادة الشراء المنفذة في نهاية عام 2021م.

2.     بيانات عام 2022م تشمل على مبلغ 26 مليار ريال المتعلقة بعملية إعادة الشراء المنفذة في عام 2022م.

3.     حسب بيانات الهيئة العامة للإحصاء.​

 

يوضح الجدول التالي تفاصيل القروض المحلية المباشرة القائمة على الحكومة (باستثناء قروض المؤسسات الحكومية) بحسب نوع الدائن في 31 ديسمبر ٢٠٢١ و2020 و2019 و2018 و2017 و2016، على التوالي، بالإضافة الى بيانات ٢٠٢٢م حتى الربع الثالث من العام.

الدين المحلي ​بمليارات الريالات
بمليارات الريالات، عدى النسب المئوية
​2016
2017
 2018
2019
​٢٠٢٠
 ٢٠٢١
​حتى الربع الثالث
٢٠٢٢
​المؤسسات الحكومية المستقلة
​80.6
71.9
84.4
​92.0
١٩٢.٩​200.0
184
البنوك التجارية
​132.9
187.6
220.5
274.4
٣٠٢.٤​348.2
335.6
​الشركات الا​ستثمارية
-​​-
​0.1
3.9
٣.٩​​3.9
74.9
​الأفراد
​-
​-
​-
0.0​
​٠.٠
​0.0
0.2
​الصناديق الاستثمارية
​-
​-
​-
1.9
٢.٥​5.1
6.2
​ أخرى​
-​​
​-
​-
0.5​
​٠.٨٦
1.5
6.4
​استثمار أجنبي
​-​-​-
​-​-​-​3.2
​إجمالي المديونية المحلية213.5​259.5
305.0
372.8
​٥٠٢.٦
558.7
610.5​
​صافي التغير
​71.2
46.0
45.5
67.8
١٢٩.٩​56.1
51.8
قروض جديدة (١)
-​-
-
​-
١١.٠​​-
1.7 (١)
​أدوات دين جديدة ​(2)
97.0​58.5
48.8
69.8
​١٦٣.٣
109.1 (2)
93.7 (2)
​المسدد خلال الفترة (٢)
​(٢٥.٨)
(12.4)
​​(3.3)
(2.0)
​(44.4)
(52.7) (2)
(41.9) (2)

​​

​​المصدر: المركز الوطني لإدارة الدين، وزارة المالية

1.     عمليات التمويل الحكومي البديل حتى النصف الأول من عام 2022م.

2.     بيانات عام 2021م و 2022م تشمل عملية إعادة الشراء.

ملاحظة:

  • ​الأرقام مقربة.​​

​​​